British-American Parliamentary Group


The British-American Parliamentary Group is a cross-party,  bicameral, inter-parliamentary group.

It acts as an autonomous body within Parliament.   It appoints its own staff to carry out its objectives and the Rules of the Group define the limitations on its powers.

The management of the Group is vested in the Executive Committee.  The Honorary Secretary and the Joint Honorary Treasurers are nominated by the Executive Committee and ratified each year at the Annual General Meeting as additional members of the Executive Committee with full voting rights. They are primarily responsible for the Group’s activities and the Programme Manager, who is an official of the Committee and not a member, is responsible for the executive work of the Group.  The Chair of the Group is the Prime Minister. The two Vice-Chairs of the Executive Committee from the House of Commons are normally of Cabinet and Shadow Cabinet rank.

Officers and Members of the Executive Committee 2021-2022
Honorary Joint Presidents The Speaker of the House of Commons
The Lord Speaker
Honorary Vice-Presidents The Rt. Hon. Dame Margaret Beckett, DBE, MP
The Rt. Hon. Ian Blackford, MP
The Rt. Hon. the Baroness Boothroyd, OM
The Rt. Hon. Sir Iain Duncan Smith, MP
The Rt. Hon. the Lord Falconer of Thoroton, QC
The Rt. Hon. the Lord Hague of Richmond
The Rt. Hon. the Lord Howard of Lympne, CH, QC
The Rt. Hon. Jeremy Hunt, MP
The Rt. Hon. the Lord Jopling, DL
The Rt. Hon. the Lord Mackay of Clashfern, KT
The Rt. Hon. Ed Miliband, MP
The Rt. Hon. Andrew Mitchell, MP
The Rt. Hon. the Lord Morris of Aberavon, KG, QC
The Rt. Hon. the Lord Owen, CH
The Rt. Hon. Dominic Raab, MP
The Rt. Hon. Sir Keir Starmer, KCB, QC, MP
Honorary Chair The Prime Minister
Honorary Vice-Chairs The Rt. Hon. Ben Wallace, MP
The Rt. Hon. John Healey, MP
The Rt. Hon. the Baroness Jay of Paddington
Honorary Secretary The Rt. Hon. Sir Greg Knight, MP
Honorary Treasurers Sir Christopher Chope, OBE, MP
The Rt. Hon. John Spellar, MP

As a result of the elections held at the Group’s Annual General Meeting on Wednesday, 7th July 2021,  the following Members were elected to the Executive Committee to serve until the Annual General Meeting in July 2022:

Members of the Executive Committee 2021-2022
House of Commons
Rehman Chishti, MP
Philip Davies, MP
The Rt. Hon. Chris Grayling, MP
Stephen Hammond, MP
Jack Lopresti, MP
Esther McVey, MP
Douglas Chapman, MP (SNP)
Yvonne Fovargue, MP (Labour)
The Rt. Hon. Dame Diana Johnson, DBE, MP (Labour)
The Rt. Hon. Kevan Jones, MP (Labour)
Conor McGinn, MP (Labour)
Chi Onwurah, MP (Labour)
House of Lords
Conservative Party
The Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate
Vacancy on the stepping down of Lord Trimble*
Labour Party
The Rt. Hon. the Lord Anderson of Swansea, DL
The Lord Robertson of Port Ellen, KT GCMG
Liberal Democrat
The Lord Fox
Cross Bench
Vacancy on the stepping down of Lord Fellowes*

Programme Manager: Hannah Mitchell

*In respect to the two vacancies, the BAPG Officers will consider recommendations for a suitable and qualified member of the Group, of the same party and of the same House, for approval with the Executive Committee.  The co-opted members will hold office until the AGM then next ensuing.

In Washington D.C., the BAPG is authorized by law, with the Senate Majority Leader and the Speaker of the House appointing and authorizing Members of the Senate and House to meet with Parliamentarians for annual conferences and other activities.  Funding is obtained each year through appropriations to pay for its expenses.

In the United States Senate, the BAPG is led by Senator John Boozman (R-Arkansas) as Chair and Senator Patrick Leahy (D-Vermont) as Vice Chair.   It is they who will convene the Senate delegations to the Group meetings.

In the United States House of Representatives, the House leadership has appointed Rep. Ron Kind (D-Wisconsin) as Chair of the House BAPG, who serves on the House Committee on Ways and Means.  Rep. Kind is joined by Rep. George Holding (R-North Carolina), as Vice Chair.  Rep. Holding also serves on the House Committee on Ways and Means.

It is the commitment of the Chairs and Vice Chairs of the Senate and House BAPG and other Congressional leaders and their staff which ensures the continuity of these links between the two legislatures.